Using the Print and Hold Function
This chapter covers tips for printing, how to print certain information from your printer, and how to cancel a job.
Store your print media properly. For more information, see "Storing Print Media".
|
NOTE: It is recommended that you try a limited sample of any print media you are considering using with the printer before purchasing large quantities. |
By selecting appropriate print media and loading it properly, you can avoid paper jams. See the following instructions on loading print media:
If you experience a paper jam, see "Clearing Jams".
To support all of the printer features, use the printer driver. When you choose Print from a software program, a window representing the printer driver opens. Select the appropriate settings for the specific job that you are sending to print. Print settings selected from the driver override the default menu settings selected from the operator panel or Tool Box.
You may need to click Preferences from the initial Print box to see all of the available system settings you can change. If you are not familiar with a feature in the printer driver window, open the online Help for more information.
To print a job from a typical Windows® application:
There are several methods for canceling a job.
To cancel a job after it has started printing:
Printing is canceled only for the current job. All the following jobs will continue to print.
When you send a job to print, a small printer icon appears in the bottom right corner of the taskbar.
A list of print jobs appears in the printer window.
For Windows 2000: Click Start® Settings® Printers.
For Windows Server® 2003: Click Start® Printers and Faxes.
For Windows Vista®: Click Start® Control Panel® Hardware and Sound® Printers.
For Windows Server 2008: Click Start® Control Panel® Printers.
A list of available printers appears.
A list of print jobs appears in the printer window.
By using the Reports menu, you can print a variety of settings for your printer including system settings, panel setting, and font list. The following section describes two examples of printing from the Reports menu.
To verify detailed system settings, print a System Settings page. A printed System Settings page also allows you to verify whether or not options have been installed properly.
See "Understanding the Menus" or "Understanding the Tool Box Menus" to identify the display and operator panel buttons if you need help.
The System Settings page is printed.
The Quick Launch Utility dialog box opens.
The Tool Box dialog box opens.
The Tool Box opens.
The Reports page is displayed.
The System Settings page is printed.
The message System Settings - Press X to Stop - Printing appears while the page prints. The printer returns to the standby mode after printing the System Settings page.
If any other message appears when you print this page, see the online Help for more information.
To print samples of all the fonts currently available for your printer:
The PCL fonts list is printed.
The Quick Launch Utility dialog box opens.
The Tool Box dialog box opens.
The Tool Box opens.
The Reports page is displayed.
The PCL fonts list is printed.
The message PCL Fonts List - Press X to Stop - Printing appears and remains on the operator panel until the page prints. The printer returns to the standby mode after printing the font sample list.
When you send a job to the printer, you can specify that you want the printer to hold the job in the memory by using the driver settings. When you are ready to print the job, go to the printer and use the operator panel menus to identify the specific job in the memory that you want to print. You can use this function to print a confidential job (Secure Print), or verify one copy before printing additional copies (Proof Print).
|
NOTE: The printer holds the job until you delete it using the operator panel or you turn off the printer. The data on memory is cleared when the printer is turned off. |
|
NOTE: Print and Hold functions require a minimum of 384 MB available print memory. |
|
NOTE: If the number of documents are too many, or the size of the print job is too big for the available memory, an error occurs. |
|
NOTE: If a document name is not assigned to your print job in the printer driver, the job's name will be identified using the PC's time and date of submission to distinguish it from other jobs stored under your name. |
Once held jobs are stored in print memory, you can use the operator panel to specify what you want to do with one or more of the jobs. You can select either Secure Print and Proof Print from "Stored Print". Then, you select your user name from a list. If you select Secure Print, you must type the password you specified in the driver when you sent the job. See "Secure Print" for more information.
From either the Secure Print or Proof Print menu items, you have three choices:
|
NOTE: To send a job to print as Secure Printing or Proof Printing, select Secure Print or Proof Print in Job Type in the Paper/Output tab of the Printing Preferences dialog box. |
The stored documents page is printed.
The Quick Launch Utility dialog box opens.
The Tool Box dialog box opens.
The Tool Box opens.
The Reports page is displayed.
The stored documents page is printed.
If you send a Stored Print job, the printer does not print the job immediately, but stores the job in memory so you can print the job later. See "Printing and Deleting Held Jobs" for more information.
|
NOTE: The printer holds the job until you delete it using the operator panel or you turn off the printer. |
|
NOTE: When you select Del after Print, the held job is automatically deleted after printing. |
If you send a Proof Print job, the printer prints one copy and holds the remaining copies you requested from the driver in print memory. Use Proof Print function to examine the first copy to see if it is satisfactory before printing the remaining copies.
See "Printing and Deleting Held Jobs" if you need help with printing the additional copies stored in memory.
|
NOTE: The printer holds the job until you delete it using the operator panel or you turn off the printer. |
|
NOTE: When you select Del after Print, the held job is automatically deleted after printing. |
When you send a job to the printer, you can specify a password from the driver. The password must be between 1 and 12 digits using numbers 0-9. The job is then held in print memory until you enter the same numeric password from the operator panel and choose to print or delete the job. This function is called "Stored Print". This ensures that the job does not print until you are there to retrieve it, and no one else using the printer can print the job.
When you select Secure Print from Stored Print after selecting your user name, the following prompt is displayed:
User Name -Enter Secure Print Password & _ |
Use the buttons on the operator panel to enter the numeric password associated with your confidential job. As you enter the password, the password you entered is displayed as * to ensure confidentiality.
If you enter an invalid password, the message Wrong Password appears. Wait three seconds, or Press
or
to return to the screen for user selection.
When you enter a valid password, you have access to all print jobs matching the user name and password you entered. The print jobs matching the password you have entered appear on the screen. You can then choose to print or delete jobs. (See "Printing and Deleting Held Jobs" for more information.)
|
NOTE: The printer holds the job until you delete it using the operator panel or you turn off the printer. The data on memory is cleared when the printer is turned off. |
|
NOTE: When you select Del after Print, the held job is automatically deleted after printing. |